Auckland

After 24 hours of travelling and after having been awake for about 30 hours, I finally arrived in Auckland in the early hours of Wednesday morning. I was excited to see the Auckland sky tower reveal itself on the horizon, though admittedly a little bit terrified to see the sprawl of the city; I’m a country gal at heart. With my heart pounding I was relieved to be the first person to get off the minibus, as we arrived at the Kiwi International Hotel. Now, I should say that I don’t plan to spend much time in hotels on this trip, not through choice but through budget restrictions! However, Laura of the past did foresee that I would be hella tired after my flights and would definitely just want to shut the door and sleep. Thank you, me.

The hotel itself was… very basic. I’d be lying if I said my heart didn’t sink a bit as I opened the door to my small, scary room with biscuit coloured walls and a view of the car park. Anyway, as the adrenaline started to fade and having reassured my loved ones I’d arrived safely, I FINALLY got to lay down and go to sleep. #blessed

The next day I woke up feeling surprisingly refreshed. When I finally plucked up the courage to leave my room (admittedly this took a while) I ventured down Queen street, past Myers park (wahay!) to Auckland’s waterfront. Somehow, I’d got it in my head that if I saw the sea I’d feel a lot better about everything. I found myself wandering around the harbour, the water was so blue. Feeling slightly better about things, I got myself an ice cream and a water, as I realised I was dehydrated AF. It was really nice down in the harbour area but, as I made it down to the silo park, I started to feel a little bit overwhelmed. Until this point, I think I thought jet lag was a myth, but let me tell you, jet lag is real. I thought it best to¬†retreat back to the hotel to sleep and I felt a lot better for it. Feeling way more chill, I took the opportunity to book the next leg of my journey, deciding to leave Auckland the next morning and move onto Hamilton..

Leave a Reply

